Category Archives: News (page 17)

Special Award for services to the EACPT for Michael Orme

The EACPT presented a Special Award for services to the EACPT for Professor Michael Orme. 

The Award was accepted on his behalf at the 11th EACPT Congress in Geneva by EACPT co-founder Professor Folke Sjöqvist. 

Michael Orme  qualified in medicine from Cambridge University and King’s College Hospital in London in 1965. He trained in internal medicine and clinical pharmacology at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School in London and at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden.…

2013 EACPT Scientific Award for new treatment approach for Parkinson’s disease

The EACPT is delighted to announce that the 2013 EACPT Scientific Award goes to Dr David Devos from the Department of Medical Pharmacology at the Université Lille Nord de France. The EACPT Scientific Award is for the report by Dr Devos about a new approach to treating Parkinson’s disease. 
The paper, for which Dr Devos was corresponding author, was published in the July 2012 issue of

Dr David Devos

the high impact international journal –  Lancet Neurology, entitled:
‘Methylphenidate for gait hypokinesia and freezing in patients with Parkinson’s disease undergoing subthalamic stimulation: a multicentre, parallel, randomised, placebo-controlled trial.’
The prize, which includes a 2000 € award, will be presented to Dr Devos at the 11th EACPT Congress in Geneva 28th – 31st August 2013.…

EACPT Lifetime Achievement Awards announced for Professor Sir Michael Rawlins and Professor Carlo Patrono

We are delighted to announce that the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award of the European Association of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics will go jointly to Professor Sir Michael Rawlins and to Professor Carlo Patrono, for their outstanding contributions to the national and international benefits of clinical pharmacology for medicine, health care and patient safety.

These Awards, including the EACPT silver medal, will be presented during the 11th EACPT Congress in Geneva, 28th – 31st August 2013. 

Professor Sir Michael Rawlins

Michael Rawlins was from 1999-2013 the first chairman of the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE), and from 1998-2008, Chairman of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs.…

1 15 16 17 18 19
Skip to toolbar